Telfer School of Management University of Ottawa

Research Accelerator Grant

From time to time, situations may arise that make it difficult for a faculty member to maintain the expected intensity of his/her research. Research productivity may vary during periods of pregnancy or early childcare, whether or not a formal leave of absence was taken, or as a result of other personal circumstances. Administrative leave, disability and other situations may also result in delays. The Research Accelerator Grant is intended to provide financial assistance to help kick-start a stalled research program.

An applicant can request up to $12,000 for a research project lasting up to two years. Knowing that availability of time to conduct research is one of the factors impacting research productivity, an applicant can also request for Research Protected Time (RPT) that is equivalent to one 3 credit course release. The total number of RPT’s available in a given year is subject to approval by the Telfer School Dean.

It is expected that the results of research enabled by this grant will lead to improved research productivity in terms of publications in academic journals and refereed conference proceedings, which ultimately will: 1) improve the promotion dossier, 2) help to develop future application for tri-council grants, and/or 3) allow the applicant to become an active researcher. The request for funding has to clearly demonstrate how this grant will be used to kick start the applicant’s research program. If an RPT is also requested, it is necessary to explain in detail how having protected time will help with obtaining results from the research.

Apply for this grant

École de gestion Telfer Université d'Ottawa

Subvention accélérateur de recherche

Certaines circonstances peuvent survenir et influencer la productivité de recherche anticipée d’un professeur. Des événements tels que la maternité, les soins apportés à de jeunes enfants ou autres raisons personnelles affectent la productivité, et ce, qu’un congé officiel ait été pris ou non. Un détachement administratif, une invalidité ou d’autres circonstances peuvent aussi occasionner des délais et nuire à la productivité d’un professeur. La subvention d'accélérateur de recherche est conçue pour fournir un appui financier et redémarrer les activités de recherche.

Un demandeur peut obtenir un montant maximal de 12 000$ pour un projet de recherche d’une durée de deux ans. Parce que l’École reconnait l’importance allouée au temps dédié à la productivité de la recherche, le demandeur peut également faire une demande de temps accordé à la recherche (TAR) équivalant à un dégrèvement d’enseignement (3 crédits). Le nombre total de TAR accordés par année est sujet à l’approbation du Doyen.

Les résultats de recherche rendus possible grâce à cette subvention ont comme attentes de mené à une amélioration de productivité de la recherche en terme de publications dans les revues scientifiques et les actes de conférences académiques, qui, ultimement vont : 1) améliorer le dossier de promotion, 2) aider au développement de demandes de financement futur aux trois organismes subventionnaires, et/ou 3) donner l’opportunité au demandeur de devenir un chercheur actif. La demande de financement doit clairement démontrer comment les fonds seront utilisés pour redémarrer sa recherche. Si un TAR est également demandé, il faudra expliquer en détail comment ce temps accordé à la recherche aidera à obtenir les résultats attendus.

Faire une demande pour cette subvention